28
Dec
10

What I wanna be when I grow up….

I am an avid “motorcycle rider/blog about it” reader. I didn’t start out to be, however, I couldn’t stop reading all the wonderful adventures about all the wonderful rides. I love the stories, the pictures, the antics… I love everything but the occasional accident. I do love the fact that the author does share and believe it helps us all understand that even the best rider can have an accident and perhaps it will keep someone on their toes and save a life.
I was reading one of my favorites, Rachael over at FuzzyGalore.com. She did this sweet little post about 4 of her favorite motorcycle travel blogs, two of which I already read (2wheels revisited and Chessie’s Tales, Motorcycles and Rides) , and asked us what ones we like. I gave her one of mine, The oasis of the soul, just to share.
Later, I began wondering why I am so attracted to these authors and their tales. The truth…. I am jealous! I want to be them when I grow up. In fact, I wanted it so badly that I have been working on a travel website for 5 years so that I can use it when I start my adventures. I have been a wife, a mother, a grandmother, and a business woman my whole life. I have ridden when I could but with little consistency so that I was a newbie rider a number of times. Now, that is about to change.
I want to thank the nearly 80 bloggers that I follow for all the wonderful posts that have danced around my head like the proverbial sugar plums. I want to be like you when I grow up and it looks like 2011 may just be my year. I am putting the finishing touches on my own motorcycle travel website after doing a COMPLETE makeover that has lasted a couple of years. I am launching it in unison with my trip to the International Motorcycle Show in New York City.  So, stay tuned and I will give you more info as I go..
Thank you, Rachael, for making me think about that….. and smile.

Lady Godiva on wheels, lovin those bloggers!!


4 Responses to “What I wanna be when I grow up….”


  1. December 29, 2010 at 3:49 am

    Judy, thank you darlin’. Thank you for the tip of the hat.

    I am totally with you. I love reading about the adventures of others. They really are inspiring food for the imagination.

    I don’t know if you believe that the universe unfolds as it should, but I sure do. Maybe there was a reason for waiting until all the stars aligned for you to have your mind be free so you can enjoy the ride. Just maybe.

    Looking forward to meeting you in NYC!

    Thanks again, toots.

    -R.

    • December 29, 2010 at 7:26 pm

      Awww, thank you darlin. You are so right. However, I was constantly trying to figure out how to ride the rides to their events. If I could have afforded a side car, I would have had one!! Now the kids and grandkids ride with me… freaky, huh??
      See you in NYC!!

  2. December 29, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    I see your website is growing! I’ve put it on my Favorites toolbar now…I’ll be back a bit more often…

    I’m so happy you have the Brammo bike now…I’ll be looking forward to spring breaking the cold up there in WA. and being able to read about some of your own adventures…

    For now, I need to get to the gym, and I’m pleased to see your writing again…
    Be well.

    • December 29, 2010 at 7:29 pm

      My Harley gets a little jealous but, the good news is that the Enertia is just an around town bike. If I need more miles, he is the go to bike! If I can tear it away from the hubby!! I put ape hangers on the Road King and I hate them. I must be a wuss or something but, I cant ride the darn thing. Might be time for momma to buy a new baby… bummer, huh??
      Be safe, my friend!


Leave a comment