17
Jun
12

Happy Father’s Day? Really….

Today is Father’s Day and according to my husband who rarely drinks, my only duty is to make sure his glass of Tequila Sunrise is full. That also means that I should walk behind the ride-on lawnmower with a pitcher in my hand and wearing an outfit that would send the neighbors into shock! I took a deep breath and calmly gave him a choice…..he chose well and will live to see another Father’s Day. 
So, a few minutes ago I was doing yard work. Summer happened while I wasnt looking and the truth is that the most beautiful part of my property are the weeds that have flowered during the recent rain followed by sun! It’s a mess. But the good news is that weeds are easier to get when they are waist-high and you don’t have to bend down! I joke, but this is no laughing matter. Where do they all come from and although I have poisoned them, stomped them out, cut them down and cursed at them, they still come back. Resilient little suckers and can’t take a hint!
Well, here is how it went for me…. bend and pick, move over, bend and pick, repeat. I was bending and picking and bending and picking and “Hole in the ground?”. I only heard a slight buzzing sound before I ran. I considered jumping in the pool but remembered that I hadn’t put the summer chemicals in yet. I thought about grabbing the hose but opted for the sure thing and hit the back door to the house at full speed, shutting it behind me with a slam!! So much can run through your mind in a short amount of time when you think you have a swarm of angry Yellow Jackets on your tail.
Back in the house I was summoned to fill my husbands glass…. its better than the Yellow Jackets and he is a lot cuter. Maybe I will even cook him a steak for dinner!

Happy Father’s Day to all you wonderful guys out there. It only comes once a year so enjoy!

Lady Godiva on wheels… warmin up the grill and giving my husband a little kiss on his bald head!

2 Responses to “Happy Father’s Day? Really….”


  1. June 19, 2012 at 5:14 pm

    How fun to get such an entertaining post. You’re a terrific write, feels like I’m talking with you.

  2. July 5, 2012 at 4:02 am

    You are so sweet. I guess you would know since we have talked in length! You are a wonderful friend.


Leave a Reply

@makingmaps


