29
Dec
10

This brings back memories….

I was reading Cyril Huse blog today and he had a story about the Fiber Optic Mohawk Helmets by Helmet Inc. He made it a point to indicate that the helmets work well for the younger crowd and not for we older biker bunch. I had to laugh a bit and remember that I had decided to “night ride” my Harley with an item that was really a blast from my past and not particularly mature! Let me explain….
How many of us just had to make our bicycles sound cool with a few clothes pins and a deck of cards? I was right there with ya! Later I fixed up my sisters bike with beads that glowed in the dark attached to the spokes… she thought she had the coolest bike on the block. Years later I put strobing spoke lights on my kids bikes so that I could find them on summer nights when they rode the cul-de-sac we lived on. Soon all the kids had them and I was back to standing in the front yard calling their names..
I was surfing the web and looking for ways to make me more visible on those dark moonless nights when I just had to go for a ride and I ran across a real blast from my past…  

The Nite Ize Spokelit LED light is meant to go on the spokes of your bicycle tire but, I just knew that with a little ingenuity I could adapt it to my Harley Road King or my little Brammo Enertia electric bike. And, for less than $10. Not once was I thinking about cool. What I was thinking was this….”Now lets see if that dumbass down the street in the Mustang pulls out in front of me and says, “Sorry, I didn’t see ya!!”‘.  A couple of the spoke lights and you could see me from the Space Shuttle!!

So, to all of you that might not think a 55-year-old grandmother should be rocking a LED mohawk helmet, think again. If it was your grandmother and she got home safe, would you want her to wear one? The easier it is to see me, the better. If they had a strobe light that would fit my butt, I might try it!! That might need to be one big ol’ strobe light..LOL. Ride safe, everyone, and light it up if ya can!!

Lady Godiva on wheels… rockin the LED

3 Responses to “This brings back memories….”


  1. December 31, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    Oh yeah, I’m all for light up bling. Keep us posted on what you light up.
    Visibility is a very good thing.

  2. January 2, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    Guilty of the card in the bicycle spokes! 😆

    How did you attach them to the bike? Did you attach them on the rim?

    • January 3, 2011 at 2:47 am

      The lights I got were really not as durable as I had hoped. They had a metal piece on the back that simply bends around any spoke type rim. My Harley has spokes but, my electric doesnt. It was too short to fit around the rims on my Enertia and my hubby made me take them off the Harley everytime he rode it cuz he thought they looked “girlish”. I finally broke the metal piece off!! Now… I bought mine at a local fair. They werent the ones from the website and, as I understand from some of the bicycle riders in my area, there are several different types that can be purchased. I am going to the local bicycle shop and do some research when I have time.
      They may be just a simple little thing but, they make A LOT of light!! Besides, I am a huge LED fan. I would put them everywhere if I could.


Leave a Reply

@makingmaps


