18
Mar
11

Updating my motorcycle travel bag…

It’s that time of year again. Time to crawl out of winter and get things ready to take advantage of the nice weather that I am sure will get here… one day.

Recently I have been considering how to reduce some of the products I like to haul around with me and after some research, I think I have come up with one really great find. Diaper rash cream…. yes, you heard me right,DESITIN® Multi-Purpose Ointment – Multi-Purpose Skin Protectant and Diaper Rash Ointment diaper rash cream.

The wonderful ingredient in this cream is zinc oxide. You probably remember it on the nose of some life guard sitting on a chair watching you splash around in a pool somewhere. In my case, it was on the

huntington beach ca home theater design

hot life guards sitting on the beach in my hometown, Huntington Beach, California. I was rescued once from under the pier after I got caught in a big wave and was tossed off my surfboard and swept away in the tide. He was the most beautiful boy, zinc on the nose and all. Mmmmmm…. but, I digress.

So, the zinc oxide in diaper rash cream can be a fantastic addition to your travel bag and offer you lots of uses in just one tube. For example, the cream does what you imagine to the area of the body that I will refer to as the”saddle area”, taking care of rashes, itching, suppressing symptoms of itching and inflammation. A welcome relief when on the road for days on end… no pun intended. It is also good for sunburns and minor burns such as the well-known leg up against the hot pipes burn that occurs when that guy…you know that guy… that just has to straddle your ride while wearing shorts. Oh, that guy will be so glad you had your diaper rash cream!! Chapped lips or any chapped skin area will love the welcomed relief that a thin layer of diaper rash cream can bring after a long day of wind and sun. In fact, it proves a decent sunblock in a pinch. If you plan to camp and run into poison oak, ivy, or sumac, it is a great inflammation reducer and speeds the healing process. It is even good for dandruff or dermatitis, should you need to use it for that on a lonesome road out there, somewhere ;). In fact, it’s even good for acne by the reduction of inflammation, reducing production of excess oil, drawing out the infectious toxins, and increasing the healing process in your skin.
The only precautions you need to keep in mind are that you  should keep the cream out of your mouth and eyes… so don’t eat it and use care when applying around your eyes, not in your eyes! Also, do a small patch test to make sure you aren’t sensitive or allergic to zinc oxide before you decide to put it everywhere.  Check out the information on Articles Skin Care.

Lady Godiva on wheels…. hoping the tip helps.

9 Responses to “Updating my motorcycle travel bag…”


  1. March 18, 2011 at 5:14 am

    Now that’s a new one! I’ll have to add some Desitin to my arsenal 🙂

    • March 18, 2011 at 7:32 pm

      Glad you liked the idea! Always good to have some tips to keep us pretty…LOL

  2. March 18, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    Do be very careful around the eyes. In the heat of the day, the cream can…and will find it’s way into the eyes. I know… My mistake was to put it above my eyes just below the eye brows. I Didn’t cover the entire lid but the stuff did kinda “melt” and slide down into my eye from the wind pushing it around. Burned a bit…Yeowza!

    Wonderful find…and you’re the best for thinking about letting the rest know about it! It never occurs to me to tell others about these things. Even though it’s through others I learn about them! You rock Judy! I’m so GLAD you’ve come back to blogging!

    • March 18, 2011 at 7:31 pm

      Thank you darlin! Im an old chick and I need all the great ideas I can find. Plus, its tough to take care of myself and only bring a few items…I need a fricken trailer to carry all the neccessities. This will help…. and more finds to come.

  3. March 21, 2011 at 12:14 am

    I HAVE TO LAUGH – I was with a friend in NYC this week and was looking at some high end cosmetics in a shop when I noted that the ingredients were in fact the same as those commonly found in baby diaper rash cream – one of them zinc oxide! It’s sound science. I bought it. But my advice is – Wear a helmet, it protects you from the nasty, damaging rays of the sun and the weathering effects of the wind 🙂

    • March 22, 2011 at 3:34 am

      That is funny… proving the point is always good. Thank you for the verification!

  4. April 13, 2011 at 10:31 am

    Heck I should of started using somethin years ago…lol Ole leather face.
    Ah it isnt age but miles.. Love ya Judy!

    • April 18, 2011 at 2:14 am

      I cant quite figure out what Im doing this year. Money isnt in abundance and time is even less! Do I want to go…well, yes! So, dont count me out, Ole Leather Face!! LOL

  5. April 13, 2011 at 10:33 am

    Oh yea cactus juice tastes way better than zinc oxide in case you were wondering! Are you coming to rally this year or what?


Leave a Reply

@makingmaps


