08
Mar
11

a close call with “ape hangers”….

PICT0015

 Over at the blog site “Better Motorcycling“, I found this story about a very scary mishap with a bike, a couple, and  ape hangers…see picture.

I had dinner with my buddy Stephanie Basalyga (on facebook, aka @motorcyclejones on Twitter) and was showing her the garage where we will be doing an interview on Sunday. I was showing her the bikes and telling her about changing out the handlebars on the HD, in the back of my mind I was remembering this picture. Sadly, I don’t like my ape hangers! Maybe I shouldn’t have insisted on the 16″, maybe I should have test ridden a bike with the ape hangers first, maybe I should have left the damn bike alone because the stock handlebars were great!  But, the husband absolutely LOVES them. He thinks the bike handles better……Venus and Mars, I tell ya.

Lady Godiva…. needin a new bike without ape hangers!!

6 Responses to “a close call with “ape hangers”….”


  1. March 8, 2011 at 6:45 am

    ape hangers are a danger to the other motorists on the road…handle better? Than what I ask?

    on an HD loctite every bolt you put a wrench on.

    • March 8, 2011 at 3:59 pm

      I cant agree with you more about the Loctite!! I wouldnt say that the ape hangers are a danger but, perhaps the riders abilities. I know that I dont feel comfortable riding with them and that is where I, personally draw the line. The husband, on the other hand, loves them. Personal preference? I think so…
      Thank you for commenting!

  2. March 8, 2011 at 7:21 am

    I’ve always wanted to try them. Its a great look. Maybe you’d get used to them?

    • March 8, 2011 at 4:01 pm

      I think I could, with some time under my belt. But, wouldnt it be more fun for me to just get a new bike?? Hehehehe…

  3. March 8, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    I tend to agree with Kevin, on the handling part there. I’m inclined to think they’d be more vague for feedback and control.

    But – to each their own!

    Now, I think you need to trust your gut on what you’ll do with your bars. If you think you’d feel better about the stock bars – go for it, mama! They can’t be too tough to put back on. Put on a pot of coffee, get out your repair manual, call up your best girlfriends and do a wrenching afternoon 🙂

  4. March 8, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    “…But, wouldnt it be more fun for me to just get a new bike?? Hehehehe…”

    NOW you’re talkin’!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

@makingmaps

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


