25
Jun
10

She Ain’t Buyin What Hairy’s Cell’n…part trois; What Stephanie is doing…

IowaHarleyGirlTo refresh your memories; I told you that Stephanie was diagnosed with the cancer, Hairy Cell Leukemia and you have been introduced information about the disease. This disease is chronic but, with proper diet, excercise, and treatment, life can be lived with all the gusto that this little Iowa Harley Girl can muster up! So, what does this dynamo of a woman do when the going gets tough and Hairy is hounding you?  She runs, and runs, and runs….. Let me explain.
 
After chemotherapy, Stephanie was released to go home. She had lost 40lbs and had to regain her strength. She also vowed to get healthy! She and her husband, Dan, bought a treadmill and she started walking everyday. Dan introduced her to Pod-runner Pod-casts and one caught her eye. It was called 1st day to 5k.  Let me use some of Stephanie’s own words to describe the rest.

I decided to train for a 5k run. It was slow going at first. I’ve never been a runner. I was always the slowest kid in school when it came to the Presidential fitness 1 mile run test. The first week I was able to run a mile in 18 minutes. When I got to week 5 I was at 13 minute miles. I made it to week 10 and am now able to run a 5k on the treadmill in 40 minutes. What a huge accomplishment for me. I’m feeling the best I’ve ever felt. I’m on my way to being a healthy, sexy, strong woman. The woman that has always been inside me but took 41 years to find. No one is stopping me now. Currently I’m working on the Pod-runner Pod-cast Gateway to 8k.
Remember that you can read Stephanie’s whole story at  http://iowaharleygirl.blogspot.com/2010/04/live-your-life-now-by-ihg-on-garage.html

Now that Stephanie has a treadmill and finds out she is actually a runner in disguise, she decides to do something astonishing! She decides to join a 5K race for the Light The Night Walk. Light The Night Walk is The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society’s evening walk/run and fundraising event. It is the nation’s night to pay tribute and bring hope to thousands of people battling blood cancers and to commemorate loved ones lost.  Check out Stephanie’s “team page” and join the cause to find a cure with a donation. It doesn’t matter how small the donation is! Every bit counts to helps. Get all the information you need to be a part of Stephanie’s team at http://pages.lightthenight.org/ia/DesMineL10/AintBuyinWhatHairysCelln You just can’t keep a great woman down!

Lady Godiva on wheels…… feeling the need to give!

Next up; She Ain’t Buyin What Hairy’s Cell’n…part quatre; Stephanie gets her OWN bike….

0 Responses to “She Ain’t Buyin What Hairy’s Cell’n…part trois; What Stephanie is doing…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

@makingmaps


