15
Jun
10

take a star walk….

I have always been a huge fan of the heavens. Any event in the night sky sparks my interest. I don’t mind getting up at 3 a.m. to see a clear view of the planet Mars. I have been found laying in the grass in the back yard at midnight to see a meteor shower. I have made a two-hour trip outside my vacation home in Arizona to avoid light pollution so that I can lay on the hood of my car and gaze at the Milky Way. All unbelievable sights!!
I happen to be the proud owner an iPhone. I don’t happen to be a big technology bug however, I do happen to be a business person. I own and operate a motorcycle website, http://motorcycletravelamerica.com , and that means that I need to interview people, take still shots of motorcycles, and make videos of the great bikes I see. For that reason, I purchased the iPhone with all those capabilities in one handy-dandy phone. With that purchase comes the possibility of getting “Apps”, those incredible additions to the already fabulous iPhone and all it can do. Some are free and others cost. What does this have to do with the sky above? Let me explain…..
Star Walk is an App available for the iPhone. It was featured as Best Apps of 2009 by Apple, brought to us by a company called Vito Technology, Inc. It is available in English, Chinese, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Russian, and Spanish. In any of those languages you will get a personal planetarium that will answer questions and allow you to be an educated star-gazer of constellations and other objects in the heavens above. The pictures available on this App are stunningly unbelievable! Some of the best I have ever seen. Just point your iPhone towards the sky and as you move, the screen changes as well. You cant help but love this!
iPhone Screenshot 1
Check out all the facts on this wonderful App at  http://itunes.apple.com/app/star-walk-5-stars-astronomy/id295430577?mt=8#  and see what you think. It happens to be one of the best $2.99 I have ever spent.
So, grab that someone special and your iPhone complete with Star Walk App.  Pack up the bike with a blanket, a basket full of dinner, find a quiet spot outside the city lights, and enjoy a wonderful and inexpensive evening. Maybe the stars will bring out the romantic in both of you.

Lady Godiva on wheels…. lovin the heavens and my iPhone and Apps.

0 Responses to “take a star walk….”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

@makingmaps


