30
May
10

It is with a heavy heart….

I opened my email, yesterday, and saw the heading, “Its with a heavy heart,”..  It was from the Road Captain of my motorcycle club, Rose City Motorcycle Club. With this being a big weekend for riding, you rather suspect that this isn’t going to end well. I reluctantly opened the email and read the sad news that made this big teddy bear of a guy use such a term.
“It is with a heavy heart, that I must tell you of the passing of a very good friend. Fellow RCMC club member Willaim “Mick” Michael Kleiman died in a single vehicle traffic accident 5 miles South of Summer Lake, Oregon, near milepost 77 on OR Hwy 31.”
With a sigh, I read the details of the accident…

According to Oregon State Police (OSP) Sergeant Steve Yates, on May 29, 2010 at approximately 12:45 p.m. WILLIAM MICHAEL KLEIMAN, age 64, from Dallas, was operating a 1992 Yamaha motorcycle southbound on Highway 31 near milepost 77 with a group of at least 3 other motorcyclists. As KLEIMAN was negotiated a left downhill curve, the motorcycle traveled onto the right gravel shoulder. KLEIMAN lost control and the motorcycle flipped, ejecting KLEIMAN onto the southbound lane.
KLEIMAN was pronounced deceased at the scene. HE was wearing a protective helmet.              

Sometimes it’s not about ability, this man was a seasoned rider. Sometimes it’s not about doing everything right or doing something wrong. Sometimes its the way God has it planned.
I know there are many heavy hearts now that this man is gone. I pray that they all find peace.
Good-bye Mick. May you enjoy the gravel free roads that heaven has to offer.

Lady Godiva on wheels… with a heavy heart.

2 Responses to “It is with a heavy heart….”


  1. 1 Pykemann
    May 31, 2010 at 7:30 am

    I had the same reaction Judy. I didn’t want to read the message. My afternoon came to a crashing stop. Everything went silent. I could hardly hold my BlackBerry.

    I have a few Mick stories. He sure loved giving the greenhorns a hard time and he loved our kids. Cameron loved to see him and all the other RCMC members.

    I won’t ever think about making it to the next gas stop on a ride without thinking of him (I ran out TWICE on the SAME RCMC 500!) It was that ride I learned FJRs have an extra gallon than Viragos. 🙂
    He made sure I didn’t forget it when I was teamed up with him on this spring’s 250 as Course Ambassadors.

    He was always first off his bike to help give a push, or to check on a rider. Both of which happened on the 250 this year.

    I’m sure he had some input in my nomination as a shotgun for the club and I appreciate all his advice he gave and the stories he told.

    In closing I’d like to say how proud he was of his son choosing the route of this year’s 250. That was a great ride and I’m happy to have it as my final ride with him.

    Mick – rest in peace my friend. Be sure to save a spot at the tabe at the diner in the middle of nowhere when we get there.

    • June 1, 2010 at 10:45 pm

      Man, that made me tear up. Thank you for sharing that with me! But, I still have to let out a little sigh everytime I think of it. Thanx, buddy


Leave a Reply

@makingmaps


