09
Mar
10

Another reason my Enertia is making me smile…

There are so many reasons to love the idea of owning and riding my new Enertia electric motorcycle.

 These days the talk around town is all about the cost of gas. The average price of gas in 2000 was $1.51 per gallon. At one point in 2008, the gas prices soared to $3.25. The average for a gallon of gas today is at $2,75 but, the buzz says that it will be above $3.00 a gallon by summer and in the town of Menlo, California, it is already at $3.97. When you consider that there is NO gasoline involved with the Enertia and an average charge to have it ride ready costs around $.30 that is a reason to smile!
Now, lets talk a little about another buzz around town. NOISE. The AMA is constantly talking about the future looking bleak for our loud piped bikes.  They are currently acting through their Government Relations Department sound-testing program to provide kits containing a calibrated motorcycle sound meter called the J2825, to try to have an easy to administer test as an alternative to the complex drive by test required by the EPA.  They have worked diligently to try to make sure the tests are fair and are working to have motorcycles held to the same standards as any other noisy vehicle out on the road. Well, the Enertia doesn’t make a sound….nope…not one. They actually had to put safeguards to insure that you can’t use the throttle unless the kickstand is up. The problem being that while the bike was running you can’t tell because there is virtually no noise and not realizing the bike was running,  it was possible to grab the throttle. Believe me, you can’t tell its running except for the light that indicates so!! I am going to be so stealthy around town, they wont hear me coming!  Noise wont be a concern. 
While I was in Best Buy taking a look at the new white color panels that had been installed on my Enertia, I was asked if I thought this was the bike of the future. To that I have to say yes. I will always love the load pipes and the big gas driven bikes that I know, love and own but I also realize that the words “carbon footprint” are currently an active part of our vocabulary. Between the gas prices and the noise problems, I will be more than happy to ride my new bike. When everyone is gripping about the fact that they have to tear their bikes apart and modify the exhaust because of excess ticketing and figure out how to make them more gas efficient because gas has gone through the roof, I’ll just be sporting around on my sweet little electric sweetie and be happy as can be. The truth is, I just want to ride! Period…..

Lady Godiva on wheels, just happy to ride!

6 Responses to “Another reason my Enertia is making me smile…”


  1. March 9, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    Unbelievable how much money you’ve saved

    • March 10, 2010 at 6:40 am

      Tis true, the savings are there and in todays economy…I love to save! Its really a very cool bike! I have been impressed from the start. Thanx for the comment..

  2. March 10, 2010 at 3:02 am

    Well… that’s amazing but to be honest i have a hard time visualizing it… I’m wondering what others have to say….

  3. 4 Michael Murphy
    March 16, 2010 at 2:03 am

    Over the life of the battery you will save enough in gas to buy a new bike and still have $3000 left over!

    By the way, is there a helmet storage compartment hiding somewhere on the bike?

    • March 19, 2010 at 6:35 am

      Michael…No, but you can buy “saddle bags” for it that cost between $150 and $200. There are plenty of things still undiscovered that can be done to modify these bikes. We are really on the fore front here. A little like trailblazers….skys the limit. Thanx for asking.

    • March 29, 2010 at 6:14 pm

      Michael, Wanted to go one step further and tell you that when you buy the bike, get a rewards card and the points will buy you the saddlebags with no charge to you! Or put it towards anything in the Best Buy store!


Leave a Reply

@makingmaps

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


